Monday, June 18, 2018

Polish Embassy to set up visa center in Yekaterinburg

The Polish Embassy will set up eight visa centers in Russia by July, with one of the centers to be established in Yekaterinburg.

The other cities where visa centers will be set up include Vologda, Khabarovsk, Novosibirsk, Kazan, Rostov-on-Don, Omsk and Smolensk, reports.

According to the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Poland to Russia Wojciech Zaj№czkowski, the decision to build the visa centers was made in order to give to as many people as possible the chance to visit the republic.

Currently, the Polish government operates three consulates-general in Russia and a consular section at the embassy in Moscow. Last year, the consulates issued more than 160,000 visas, according to

According to Zaj№czkowski, the government came to the conclusion that the current network is too small for dealing with Russia and the growing number of people wanting to visit Poland.

“We thought that, as we cannot open consulates in every big Russian city, we should give the people a chance to apply for our visa through intermediaries,” Zaj№czkowski said, according to