Friday, July 20, 2018

Team from St. Petersburg State University wins ACM-ICPC competition

Last Thursday, three students from St. Petersburg State University were declared the winners of the Association for Computing Machinery's 28th International Collegiate Programming Contest (ACM-ICPC).

Held annually, ACM-ICPC is sponsored by IBM and brings together the best student computer programmers in the world. This year's competition was held at Baylor University in Waco, Texas, and was attended by 122 student teams from universities across six continents.

"ACM-ICPC is a great opportunity for students from around the world to come together and share their valuable experience," ACM-ICPC Executive Director and Baylor University professor Bill Paucher said. "I am pleased to observe how young people use knowledge gained in the course of the competition, for the further development of selected academic and career path as members of the Association for Computing Machinery."

The competition culminated in the Battle of the Brains event, where students were challenged to create complicated code sequences in only five hours.

The St. Petersburg team won by creating code which accomplished seven intricate tasks in the shortest amount of time. The team was awarded a trophy and each of the three members received internship offers at IBM.

"As one of the world's leading technology companies, IBM understands how important it is to help students and motivate them to explore ways with the latest technological advances," Alan Azaguri, IBM's head of software technical strategy, said. "Each year, ACM-ICPC brings together the best student programmers in the world and gives them the opportunity to solve real-world problems. We believe that these students are the future leaders of our industry, and we want to contribute to their development and preparation for future work. We hope that the awards will help us build a truly intelligent planet."

Moscow State University, Peking University and National Taiwan University placed second, third and fourth, respectively, in this year's competition.