Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Six cities in Russia will open Ukrainian polling stations

Six Russian cities, including Yekaterinburg, will open polling stations where Ukrainian citizens can cast ballots for the Ukrainian parliamentary elections on October 28, according to Ukraine's foreign office.

Andrei Olefirov, Ukraine's deputy foreign minister, told reporters at a Wednesday press conference in Kiev that polling stations will be open for the election in Yekaterinburg, Rostov-on-Don, Nizhny Novgorod, Novosibirsk, St. Petersburg and Moscow, the Voice of Russia reports.

Olefirov said that each Russian station is expected to host more than a thousand voters.

The deputy foreign minister responded to concerns on Wednesday related to vote rigging, stating that it was not likely because the stations abroad were enforced with ample security. The security systems include lock boxes, transport vehicles and technical equipment, Interfax reports.

By banning absentee ballot and editing voting lists on the election day, the country reduced the risk of vote tempering abroad, according to Olefirov.

Monitors from the parties and international watchdogs will be present at the stations the entire time they are open to ensure that voting is transparent and fair.

Approximately 450,000 Ukrainian voters will have the ability to vote at 116 polling stations in 77 countries on October 28, the Voice of Russia reports.