Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Consulate General of Ukraine in Tyumen moving to Yekaterinburg

The Consulate General of Ukraine in Tyumen will head to Yekaterinburg after the Russian government agreed to the move.

Russian Prime Minister Vladmir Putin has signed the decree that approves the transfer, Ukrinform.ua reports.

The consular district will include the areas of the Kurgan, Sverdlovsk, Tyumen and Chelyabinsk regions, and Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug - Ugra and Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug.

The Consulate General of Ukraine opened in Nizhny Novgorod on Feb. 14. Earlier, the Russian government had agreed on the move of the Consulate General of Ukraine in Vladivostok to Novosibirsk, according to Ukrinform.ua.

In Russia, the Consulates General of Ukraine also operate in St. Petersburg and Rostov-on-Don. Additionally, the Consular Section operates at the Ukrainian Embassy in Moscow.

Diplomatic relations between Russia and Ukraine were established in 1991 upon the disbanding of the Soviet Union. Both nations were founding constituent republics. Russia has an embassy in Kiev and consulates in Kharkiv, Lviv, Odessa and Simferopol.