Thursday, June 21, 2018

Public Chamber of Yekaterinburg holds first meeting

The Public Chamber of Yekaterinburg held its first meeting this week to confirm the credentials of all 33 members of the body and to elect a chairman and deputies.

Alexander Tatarkin, the director of the Institute of Economics from the Ural branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, was re-elected as the chairman. His elected deputies were Viktor Perevalov and Elvira Goncharenko, reports.

Perevalov is the president of the Ural State Legal Academy and Goncharenko is a representative of the Lutheran community.

During the meeting, the chamber approved a list of standing committees of the organization. One committee was for the development of local self-government relations with the state, municipal authorities and organizations. Another was for the institutions of social well-being of the city's inhabitants and on urban development, youth and the reform of housing. A third committee deals with the patriotic education of citizens, according to

One-third of the chamber forms the Yekaterinburg City Council, one-third is the chairman of the Yekaterinburg City Duma and the remaining third appoints two-thirds of the members of the House of Representatives. Members of the House are elected every three years.