Monday, June 18, 2018

Cyprus and Urkaine consulates to open in Yekaterinburg

Yekaterinburg, the cultural center of the Ural Mountains, will open the Consulate of Cyprus and Ukraine this year as well as a separate office of the Turkish Embassy in Russia.

In addition, Sergei Constantinople will begin his duties as an honorary consul of the Republic of Nicaragua in Yekaterinburg in several weeks. Yekaterinburg now has 21 official representatives of foreign countries, reports.

The 21 representatives include 11 consulates general, one sales office of the Belarusian Embassy to Russia and nine offices of honorary consuls. According to a representative, the emergence of new consulates is the result of the rising popularity of Yekaterinburg by foreign citizens.

Countries with consulates in the city include the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, the Czech Republic, Kyrgyzstan, Bulgaria, China, Hungary, Austria, Armenia, Italy, Vietnam, France and Spain. The BRIC, a group consisting of Brazil, Russia, India and China, held its first official summit in June 2009 in Yekaterinburg, according to the BBC.